Work/Life Balance

Hi guys! So today was essentially my Monday after my 3 day weekend. It was pretty brutal. I did survive but barely. Today I wanted to talk about my current attempts at having a good work/life balance. It is very hard, especially when you work 10 hour days. I do get three day weekends which are nice in a way, but not because it makes it all the harder to go back. I’m making the most of it now, but in the back of my mind I’m always looking for ways to make things as less stressful as possible. It helps that we have things we do on the weekend with our friends. Trivia nights are always fun. We also play 2 games a week similar to dungeons and dragons, called Pathfinder. It’s pretty fun to do in the little time we have away from work. This all circles back to my same end goal of writing for a living. If I was essentially my own boss,and  could work from home, I would have a lot more flexibility with my schedule. As I’ve mentioned in previous blogs this is my end goal. Lately I’ve been more seriously looking into online writing jobs. I’ve been calculating the amount of money I make a month right now and doing research into what it will take to get that amount from my writing. Obviously I’m not going to get that much right off the bat, because as of right now I make a pretty decent amount at the job I have. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate my job. Its not all bad, and it does pay the bills. Its just not the be all end all for me. I still have a long way to go before I can quit altogether though. There’s a lot of planning and work to be done for that to even be possible. I’ll have to start out small of course because of my lack of experience but I hope to eventually take on more serious jobs like maybe a social media consultant or a columnist of some kind. I can’t wait to feel more in control of my life. If you guys have any experience with freelance blogging or smaller contracts of that nature, let me know about it in the comments about your experience. Also any pointers you guys have for people just getting into the industry would be helpful. Well, I have to be up pretty early, so I will be back tomorrow. Bye Guys!

Leave a Reply

